Have you ever had that thought of “I wish I could do _________, but I’m too afraid.” Or “I would love to, but I don’t think I can.”

It happens to us all. And probably more than it should.

A couple of years ago I made a decision to stop buying into my fear. I didn’t want it to be the ruler of my world. It had been for many years and it was time it took the back seat and let me drive again. So I told it to sit down and shut up.

I felt empowered! My gosh how the world of possibilities opened up to me. I had opened the door wide and the universe seemed to radiate through like the sun.

As children we have fears (its inherent and part of our genetic make up) but have you ever seen a child not have a go at something? The ones that don’t try have usually been made to fear the world by scared parents. Usually kids will try everything. They aren’t afraid to press the button or make the jump – they don’t see the world as having disastrous consequences yet (that is something we strangely develop as we age)

So why do we suddenly become such scaredy cats? And why do we let the fears stop us?

I completely understand that we are meant to fear certain things as a survival mechanism. But surely we aren’t meant to let our fears stop us from trying new things.

Acknowledge the fear, take a deep breath, and tell it to “shut up!”

So with my new-found vigour and lust for stepping outside my comfort zone I was all for yelling at my friends to do what the heart is yearning for without fear. “If your heart wants to cart-wheel down the streets.. do a fucking cartwheel” – my best friend will attest to this quote from me – she listened too

And now when I hear people say “I want to do ______, but I don’t think I have the guts” or “But what if it goes badly” or “I’d love to but I just don’t think I can” I tell them.. “whats the worst that can happen?”

Truely, whats the worst that can happen?

You make a fool of yourself? – So what, dust yourself off, have a good laugh, and try again.
It doesn’t work? – Learn from the mistake, try again.
You realise you don’t like it? – Well at least you had a go, try something else.

At risk of sounding like a Nike ad… just fucking do it!

No ifs, buts, maybes.. try, explore, learn, silence the fear, listen to that heart –┬áis it singing? does it make you happy? KEEP GOING

You, like me, will be amazed at how invigorating it is.

